Green Juices: a great source of vitamins, minerals, enzymes and phytochemicals

So far I have always preferred smoothies to juices, because I didn’t like much the idea of wasting all the fruit’s pulp, skin and fiber.

However, I am currently reading a lot of interesting books about nutrition and healthy eating and among them The Gerson Therapy: the Proven Nutritional Program for Cancer and Other Illnesses.

According to Dr Gerson, juices  provide most of the vitamins, minerals, enzymes, phytochemicals and other nutrients essential to healing along with adequate
fluid intake.

Apple Celery Ginger and Wild Strawberry JuiceIn order to get started with juicing I began using a very easy, basic and sweet recipe before going into proper green juicing.

As first attempt I just used what was available in my pantry and balcony so simply juiced 2 apples, 1 piece of celery, about 1 cm of ginger and an handful of wild strawberries from my plants.

It was nice and sweet.

Last week I also went for the first time to the Good Life Eatery and tried their Green Salad Juice made with spinach, parsley, cucumber, kale, celery, romaine, ginger and lemon and must admit was not yet ready to drink it all as the flavour was really strong.

 

Salad SmoothiesI’ll keep experimenting initially adding more fruit. Below an image found of Pinterest about the formula for green juicing, useful as guideline for fruit and vegs proportions.

Green Juice Formula

Juice and Enjoy x

About Laura

I am passionate about healthy eating. I have a background and job in media & marketing but my interest in nutrition started in 2009 when I moved to London (from Italy). I enjoy cooking wholesome yet luscious treats for my family and friends and sharing recipes on my blog
This entry was posted in Blog, Healthy Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

