Raw Cacao Energy Balls. Perfect for Chocolate Cravings

According to a 2012 study by Leatherhead Food Research, Uk is the third of the top 20 chocolate consuming nations with a Per Capita chocolate consuption of 9,5Kg per year.

Considering that a regular chocolate bar is around 40-45 grams, this means that each person consumed almost 220 bars over the course of one year!

Despite not being on those levels, I have to admit that often I have chocolate cravings, especially now that I am pregnant. However, because I have completely removed caffeine and chocolate from my diet, I am coping with these cravings eating these yummy Raw Cacao Energy Balls.

 

Maca Cacao Energy Balls

This recipe is really quick and simple to make, my suggestion is to prepare quite a few of them as you can store them in the fridge for up to 10 days.

Raw Cacao Energy Balls Ingredients

  • 1 cup almonds
  • ¼ cup walnuts (or any other preferred nut)
  • 5 medjool dates, pitted
  • 2 tbsp raw cacao powder
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 tbsp water
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 tablespoon of hemp protein powder
  • 1 tablespoon of maca powder

Method

In a food processor blend the almonds and walnuts until they form a fine meal. Add all the other ingredients and blend until it comes together in a firm dough-like mix. If it is too dry, add a little more coconut oil.

Roll the mixture into small balls, either using an ice-cream scoop or your hands. If preferred, roll the balls in the cacao or seeds.

What we need when we crave chocolate? I found this table on Pinterest, showing what we should eat when we have food cravings.

Food Cravings: What to Eat Instead

Food Craving Table

About Laura

I am passionate about healthy eating. I have a background and job in media & marketing but my interest in nutrition started in 2009 when I moved to London (from Italy). I enjoy cooking wholesome yet luscious treats for my family and friends and sharing recipes on my blog
This entry was posted in Blog, Healthy Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

