Gluten Free Italian Aubergine Polpette

Cooking family recipes is a way to remember people you have loved and nice anecdotes of the past, mainly of childhood. I can still see my grandfather spending his Sunday mornings cooking for the family and mainly preparing polpette, Italian balls of goodness made with meat or aubergines.

I try to keep this family tradition here in London, cooking polpette for my daughter for Sunday lunches but making a healthier version, gluten free and baked, I can eat as well.

Gluten Free Italian Aubergine Polpette Ingredients

  • 3 medium aubergines
  • 1 cup of (gluten free) bread crumb
  • 1 egg
  • 3 tbsp grated Permesan cheese
  • 1 clove finely chopped garlic
  • handful of fresh basil, finely chopped
  • 1 tbsp pine nuts
  • salt
  • pinch of pepper or chilly (optional)
  • Method
    1. Bake the aubergines in the oven at 200 degrees C for at least one hour or until tender. Once cooled, remove the skin off.
    2. In a large bowl mix together the aubergine’s pulp with all the other ingredients, making sure the mixture is tender but firm.
    3. Using your hands roll the mixture into balls with a 3/4 cm diamater and place them on a sheet tray.
    4. Bake the polpette for 25/30 minutes in the oven at 180 degrees C, until golden brown.

    For the gluten free bread crumb I blended 5 slices of DS Gluten Free rice and corn crackers.

    About Laura

    I am passionate about healthy eating. I have a background and job in media & marketing but my interest in nutrition started in 2009 when I moved to London (from Italy). I enjoy cooking wholesome yet luscious treats for my family and friends and sharing recipes on my blog
    This entry was posted in Blog, Healthy Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

    Leave a Reply

