Hemp, Maca and Chia Seeds. Vegan super foods for smoothies

Even if summer is now over, I can’t renounce to have berries in my morning smoothies. Besides the small portions of berries I have frozen myself, I have found out that good and cheap options are available in all main supermarkets.

Together with fresh or frozen fruit and vegetable milk (usually almond milk), I have been boosting my morning smoothies with some of the best super foods: raw hemp powder, raw maca and chia seed .

Hemp Powder
Raw green protein, made with natural hemp seeds, it is considered the cleanest, plant-based nutrition on the planet. Rich in fibre, omega 3 and 6, and all essential amino acids I like to add a teaspoon of it to my smoothies.

Maca powder
Grown in central Peru, Maca is an ancient plant which has been used for at least 3000 years due to its powerful and beneficial effects including enhancing energy, stamina, improving osteoporosis, depression, memory and fertility.

Chia seeds
Again an ancient food, used by the Aztecs, chia seeds are a great source of omega-3 fats and fibre and have a lot of positive health effects including boosting energy, aiding digestion, lowering cholesterol and stabilising blood sugar.

Vegan Berry Smoothie with Best of Super food Ingredients

  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1 apple
  • 1 cup of frozen berries
  • 1 tsp each of Maca, Hemp and Chia
  • Almond Milk
  • Method
    Add all the ingredients to a blender. Blitz and enjoy xx

    About Laura

    I am passionate about healthy eating. I have a background and job in media & marketing but my interest in nutrition started in 2009 when I moved to London (from Italy). I enjoy cooking wholesome yet luscious treats for my family and friends and sharing recipes on my blog
    This entry was posted in Blog, Detox, Healthy Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

    Leave a Reply

