Best Gluten Free Chocolate Cake Recipe

I am not a typical baking person. Despite my passion for cooking, I am more for an extemporized cuisine, quick and creative recipes to be thought and prepared with what is ready available in the fridge. However, lately, a certain little person has developed a passion for chocolate and ‘chocolate cake’ have become her favourite words and food.

Best Gluten Free Chocolate Egg

This new chocolate food affair, coupled with my 2 week gluten free diet (aimed to asses if I have developed Gluten Sensitivity )has led me to search for good gluten free cake recipes. Drawing inspiration from my  Italian origins I have  just come out with this fantastic almond and chocolate cake. This recipe is based on the traditional Capri Chocolate Cake.

Gluten Free Chocolate Cake Recipe

Ingredients

  • 250 grams ground almonds (blanched, lightly toasted)
  • 200 grams sugar
  • 5 large eggs (free range)
  • 1 pinch of salt
  • 160 grams butter (melted and cooled)
  • 200 grams dark chocolate (at least 70% cocoa, melted and cooled)
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon coffee (optional)
  • 1tbsp gluten free baking powder (I have used Dr Oetker)

Method

  1.     Preheat the oven to 180 degrees
  2. Beat the sugar and egg yolks until creamy.
  3. Add the ground almonds, and then the melted butter and melted chocolate. Mix well.
  4. Beat stiff the egg whites with a pinch of salt and add to the mixture, folding gently.
  5. Add 1 teaspoon cinnamon, 1 teaspoon coffee (optional) and 1tbsp gluten free baking powder. Mix well.
  6. Line a cake tin with wet greaseproof paper, pour the cake mixture in it and cook for 40 minutes.
  7. When cooked cool on a cake rack and dust with icing sugar.

Chocolate Cake Gluten Free

About Laura

I am passionate about healthy eating. I have a background and job in media & marketing but my interest in nutrition started in 2009 when I moved to London (from Italy). I enjoy cooking wholesome yet luscious treats for my family and friends and sharing recipes on my blog
This entry was posted in Blog, Healthy Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

