Healthy Sicilian Strawberry Granita Recipes

I am back from Italy after three weeks holiday with my family. When I am there I just realise how simple, good and healthy our food is. The secret? We cook everything from scratch, using fresh and local ingredients, we simply eat real food.
When yesterday I saw beautiful strawberries from Kent in my local market (North End Rd Market, West London) I just thought of making this simple yet delicious Italian recipe: Sicilian Strawberry Granita.

This is a healthier option with no sugar. Strawberries are a good source of vitamins A, B and C, encourage iron absorption and reduce blood-fat levels. They can also help the body to cope with stress.

Sicilian Strawberry Granita Recipe

Ingredients

400g strawberries blended
200ml water
1/2 lemon juice

Method

1. Stir the blended strawberry with cold water and lemon juice.
2. Freeze in a shallow non metal container. For the first 2 hours stir it every 30 minutes.
3. Just before serving, break into chunks until smooth. Serve immediately.

I did’t add any sugar in this granita because strawberries were really sweet and delicious but if you want it more sweet just add 2 tbsp raw cane sugar.

About Laura

I am passionate about healthy eating. I have a background and job in media & marketing but my interest in nutrition started in 2009 when I moved to London (from Italy). I enjoy cooking wholesome yet luscious treats for my family and friends and sharing recipes on my blog
This entry was posted in Blog, Detox, Healthy Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.